What’s Next?

22 04 2009
The Happiest Place on Earth!

The Happiest Place on Earth!

My life right now almost seems like those commercials you see right after the Super Bowl. You know the one’s I’m talking about. I’ll give you an example:

Announcer person: “Alicia, you’ve just graduated college… what are you going to do next?!?”  me: “I’m going to DISNEY WORLD!”

It’s true. And it’s not just for vacation either. After graduation, in August, I will be going to Disney World to take part in what is known as the “Walt Disney World College Program.” As a part of this, I will be living and working in the happiest place on Earth, and I couldn’t be happier about this!

My role is going to be selling merchandise somewhere on Disney property, and I won’t know any more than that until I get down there, but I’m excited for the prospect. It means that I will get valuable experience in a store that gets a lot of traffic each day, and I’ll get to see all the awesome Disney merchandise before anyone else does. It also means I’ll be wearing a wonderful “costume” (also known as a uniform anywhere else), which I’m excited about, but it won’t leave much room for any fashion innovation. Which is fine, it is, after all, all about preserving the “Disney Look” and it will also help on cutting down the number of clothes I can stuff into my suitcase for the move down to Orlando for 5 months.

Among those clothes I’ll be stuffing into my suitcase will be several options that meet the “Disney Look” of business attire. Disney is strict when it comes to what they’ll let you where when you are representing them while not in costume. Even to the point of on your first day, called “Traditions,” they will send you home if you are not in compliance with their look and you will be forced to reschedule your “Traditions” class.

So what would be an acceptable “Disney Look”? Well, my plan is a gray

How could you not love working for this guy?!?!?

How could you not love working for this guy?!?!?

pin-striped suit that consists of  nice pants and a jacket, paired with a white button-up (with ruffles on the front, I have to have a little fashion sense!). The only part I’m not sure about is the shoes. According to the guidelines, we are allowed to wear heels, with a peep toe or a sling back, but no sandals. I’m thinking I’ll wear nice ballet flats so I don’t have to worry about it,  but I’m still concerned it won’t be acceptable. But I do have until August to figure it all out for sure!

Starting in August (for sure August, but I’ll probably start before then!), this blog will chronicle my time working for the mouse (:)) in the Disney College Program, so stay tuned! and see ya real soon! 🙂

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

