Barbie Love

10 03 2009

For 50 years, Barbie Millicent Roberts has been a staple in almost every girl’s collection of toys. Manufactured by Mattel, Inc., Barbie was introduced to the world 50 years ago on March 9th, 1959, by Ruth Handler, who named the doll after her young daughter, Barbara. For 50 years Barbie has been a reflection of the fashion that surrounded her throughout the decades.

When Barbie first appeared, she wore a zebra-printed bathing suit with black high heels and her hair (available in either blonde or brunette) was styled in a high ponytail on top of her head. Recently during fashion week at the end of February a fashion show was put on by various designers who created designs inspired by Barbie dolls throughout the decades.

The following are some of my favorites from the show.

1. A designers’ take on the original Barbie’s classic zebra-print swimsuitOriginal Barbie

2. When I was younger, I would get designer Barbie catalogs in the mail. I can definitely remember seeing the following one in one of those catalogs. I want to say it is a Bob Mackey design, but don’t quote me on that one!Classic Bob Mackey Barbie

3. Everyone needs a Ken! Okay so maybe this next one isn’t the most haute couture design, but I still like it. Even though the real life Barbie and Ken were brother and sister, the dolls in the minds of most young girls were boyfriend and girlfriend or husband and wife. Whatever the fantasy play of the day asked them to be.Barbie and Ken

4. My mom gave me her old Barbie a long time ago. It wasn’t one of the very first Barbies in the original zebra-swimsuit, but it was still in the first generation of Barbies. Her doll has a definite late 50s, early 60s hairstyle (short, curled brownish-red hair). One of the dresses in my mom’s Barbie’s wardrobe was a gorgeous green full-skirted dress, much like the following design.Green Barbie Dress

5. This dress reminds me of one of the dresses in my own collection of Barbie dolls. My dress didn’t have see-through shoulder pads like this one does though.Barbie, one shoulder

6. This silver dress reminds  me more of the present, like this would be my Barbie, not my mom’s. Not too sure about that see-through cape, is that supposed to be a garment bag, or what?Barbie silver dress

7. I love this more original take on Barbie’s original zebra-striped swim suit. It’s only something Barbie could pull off. Barbie Zebra print

8. Last but not least, this design is of the infamous “Malibu Barbie” and was made by Project Runway’s Nick Verreos and modeled be Chantal Jones of America’s Next Top Model cycle 9.  Included in the picture are Nick’s original sketch of the Malibu Barbie design. Though, I’d probably like it even if neither of them were involved. It’s such a classic Barbie of recent years look. Chantal Jones as Barbie

Barbie, may you never grow old! I hope to pass along my own collection of Barbies to my own daughter someday (if I can ever bear to part with them, I have quite a few!).

Happy Birthday Barbie! 🙂 Celebrating 50 years young!

Actions

Information

5 responses

10 03 2009
Barbie Love | ongamesnet.com

[…] more from the original source: Barbie Love Related ArticlesBookmarksTags Love Generation – TV Show Intro This is the intro sequence I […]

14 03 2009
DIY Projects » Blog Archive » Barbie Love « Fashion and Textile Trends

[…] Last but not least, this design is of the infamous “Malibu Barbie” and was made by Project Runway’s Nick Verreos and modeled be Chantal Jones of America’s Next Top Model cycle 9. Included in the picture are Nick’s original sketch of the …Continue Reading… […]

16 03 2009
watcat

Hi this blog is great I will be recommending it to friends.

20 03 2009
coffee maker

Happy 50th Birthday Barbie! (but who’s counting?)

24 11 2009
M*m*

wow i had no idea about the story of barbie til now ! thanks..cool info.

i love the first pic .

Leave a Reply

