So Cold…

14 01 2009

Let’s get one thing straight. I hate the cold. I live in Nebraska, yes the weather is crazy, but this is ridiculously cold. At least it hasn’t snowed in awhile, which would make the cold even worse, in my opinion of course.

While I hate the cold with a passion, by far the best thing about winter, is wearing woolen hats and scarves and sweaters, and all sorts of other knitted goodness.

I’m a knitter, I’ve been knitting for 5 years now, and some of my favorite things to make are hats and scarves. I also tend to notice the hats and scarves that other people are wearing as well, because if I see something I like, I try to either find a pattern, or make up my own pattern to make one for myself.

Today I’ve been noticing lots and lots of scarves, and the people who are wearing them tend to look a little bit like bandits because the entire bottom half of their face is covered by the scarf, and then they have a hat and usually the hood of their coat on as well. When it’s this cold, you definitely need all that to keep you warm.

I also tend to notice a lot of the hats that are being worn. One of my favorites that I’ve seen a lot over the past few cold days are knitted beanies that have a short visor on them, which makes them resemble a baseball cap or a newsboy cap. They are usually textured/almost chunky lace-like knits made out of chunky yarns in bright colors, although I’ve also seem them in black, white and gray (which aren’t so bright of a color).

This is an example of a knitted visor beanie like the ones I've been seeing around campus lately. This one is available from PacSun.

This is an example of a knitted visor beanie like the ones I've been seeing around campus lately. This one is available from PacSun.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

